DWI Attorney in Temple Helping You Get Your Drunk Driving Charges Reduced or Dropped
Nearly 11 percent of Texas residents have been involved in a drunk driving crash at some point in their lives, while 24 percent have been charged with a DWI. Add to this harsh reality; traffic accidents are a huge cause for concern in Texas.
A person dies in a car crash every two hours and 15 minutes, while someone is injured every two and a half minutes. Poor driving conditions in a state known for accidents paired with impaired driving are a lethal combination. This is why the legal issues surrounding impaired driving are taken so seriously in Texas.
Law enforcement considers you legally intoxicated when your blood alcohol concentration (BAC) level reaches .08 percent. It’s common for people to have a few drinks and think they’re OK to drive, though the effects of drugs and alcohol take time to absorb into your system. Most people don’t realize that they are breaking the law as soon as drugs or alcohol impact their driving ability.
A person can get caught drinking and driving a second, third, or fourth. If it’s your first or your third, don’t face a DWI conviction alone or repeat offenses and risk your freedom and rights without proper legal representation exploring potential resolutions.
Schedule an initial consultation with our DWI lawyers with Barina Law Group. Call our law office today to discuss your DWI charges: (254) 523-4446.
What Happens with a First DWI Offense?
First-time offenders don’t escape the consequences of impaired driving consequences in Texas. Individuals with no prior record or drunk driving charges will be treated and prosecuted like criminals.
This can be a surprising experience for first-time offenders, so our criminal defense attorneys will help you understand the charges, possible consequences, and what to expect in court. A conviction without the presence of any extenuating circumstances will likely result in three days in county jail or, instead of, community supervision.
A first-offense DWI is a class B misdemeanor in Texas. You can face up to $2,000 in fines and 180 days in county jail if convicted. Civil consequences apply, which can be the most painful for individuals convicted of a DWI charge. Their driving privileges might be suspended, or if they refused a breathalyzer, they could face suspension for up to 180 days.
Other circumstances of your DWI charge can lead to enhanced fines and penalties if the injury involves a high BAC of .15 or more, which can escalate your charge to a class A misdemeanor.
Class A misdemeanors result in fines of up to $4,000 and the possibility of a year in county jail, as well as an ignition interlock device. Contact our DWI lawyers with Barina Law Group to discuss your first DWI offense and possible opportunities to lessen your penalties. Schedule an initial consultation: (254) 523-4446.
How Does a Police Officer Know I’m Driving Drunk?
Impaired drivers don’t always appear drunk, and the signs might be subtle. Just because you don’t seem drunk does not mean you are safe to drive or aren’t a danger to other drivers on the road.
In other instances, drivers might showcase apparent signs of drunk driving. There are ways to spot a drunk or drugged driver, including:
- Quick acceleration or deceleration
- Excessive speeding or low speed
- Reckless driving
- Weaving or zigzagging across the road
- Driving anywhere other than on the road designated for vehicles
- Striking objects like a curb, sign, or another vehicle
- Stopping without cause or erratic braking
- Drifting in and out of lanes or swerving
With these telltale signs, law enforcement can pull you over with enough reasonable suspicion. If this happens, take careful steps so as not to give yourself away before you have the chance to hire an attorney. Be polite, answer questions vaguely, and remain silent when appropriate. Also, know whether you will participate in the breathalyzer test.
Police officers make mistakes and sometimes don’t follow protocol. This can be used to your advantage. If you were recently pulled over, speak with our DWI attorney to review your drunk driving charges and any errors or omission of evidence to use in your case. Book an initial consultation with our DWI attorney: (254) 523-4446.
What if My DWI Results in Injury or Harm?
Alcohol or drug-impaired driving is deadly and remains an ongoing problem in Texas and worldwide. If you injure another person due to impaired driving, you are committing a DWI offense and will likely be charged with intoxication assault.
Serious bodily injury means an injury creates a substantial risk of death or causes serious and permanent disability or disfigurement. In most cases, intoxication assault in Texas is charged as a third-degree felony and, if convicted, a possibility of two to 10 years in prison, along with up to $10,000 in fines.
One of the most serious DWI offenses is impaired driving, resulting in death. This is considered intoxication manslaughter, whether a car, boat, truck, or another vehicle. In most cases, a conviction will result in a second-degree felony charge and result in a punishment of two to 20 years in prison, in addition to $10,000 in fines and driver’s license suspension.
Driving while impaired in car accidents can ruin another person’s life and family. Not only will you face criminal charges, but wrongful death could result in a lawsuit against you.
If you injured or killed another person in a drunk driving accident, get in touch with our law offices immediately, as you will need solid legal representation to avoid the maximum penalties. Consult a DWI lawyer in Temple, TX, and utilize our initial consultation to get much-needed legal advice regarding your DWI charges: (254) 523-4446.
Can a DWI Attorney Help Repeat Offenders?
Repeat offenders with multiple DWI offenses will face ongoing legal issues without legal representation as the penalties only increase. Life doesn’t get easier after multiple DWIs. Some long-term consequences of multiple DWI offenses include driver’s license revocation, background checks, inability to secure a job, keeping your current employment, high auto insurance rates, and jail time.
To set expectations, consequences for repeat offenses might include:
- A first-offense DWI can result in $2,000 in fines and 180 days in county jail if convicted.
- A second-offense DWI can result in up to $4,000 in fines, up to one year in jail, and license suspension.
- A third-offense DWI, can result in up to $10,000 in fines and up to 10 years in prison. In addition, you will be responsible for an annual fee of $2,000 to retail your license after suspension.
It’s best to get ahead of repeat offenses with the help of a DWI attorney with Barina Law Group. We can build a defense in your favor by reviewing the police report, finding mistakes, omissions of information, or errors, and investigating your case to help initiate plea deals, reduce your charges, or get them dropped altogether under the right circumstances.
Schedule an initial consultation with Barina Law Group and our team of DWI attorneys today to get started on building a defense regarding your multiple DWI offenses. Call: (254) 523-4446.